SFJFF Audience Award

Inaugurated at the 37th San Francisco Jewish Film Festival (2017), the SFJFF audience award is chosen by ballot from all 40,000 San Francisco Jewish Film Festival attendees. All selected films are eligible for consideration. Audience Award categories include Best Narrative and Best Documentary.  

SFJFF Audience Award Winners

Picture of His Life | Best Documentary Feature | Yonatan Nir & Dani Menkin | SFJFF 2019
The Keeper |
Best Narrative Feature | Marcus Rosenmüller | SFJFF 2019
Who Will Write Our History
| Best Documentary Feature | Roberta Grossman | SFJFF 2018
The Last Suit
| Best Narrative Feature | Pablo Solarz | SFJFF 2018
Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story
 | Best Documentary Feature | Alexandra Dean | SFJFF 2017
1945 | Best Narrative Feature | Ferenc Török | SFJFF 2017

San Francisco Film Critics Circle Award

The San Francisco Film Critics Circle Award, inaugurated at SFJFF37, represents a new partnership between the San Francisco Jewish Film Festival and the influential community of Bay Area film critics. The 2018 SFJFF Film Critics Circle Award will be presented in the category of Best Narrative Feature.

SF Film Critics Circle Award Winners

Neighbours | Best Narrative Feature | Mano Khalil | SFJFF 2021
The Interpreter
| Best Narrative Feature | Martin Šulík | SFJFF 2018
| Best Narrative Feature | Ferenc Török | SFJFF 2017

SFJFF Best Short Documentary Award

Another newly introduced award at the 2017 San Francisco Jewish Film Festival, this juried award honors achievements in short documentary filmmaking. All selected short documentaries in the Festival are eligible. The San Francisco Jewish Film Festival is an Academy Award® qualifying festival in the Short Documentary Subject category. Recipients of SFJFF's Best Short Documentary Award will be eligible for consideration in the Documentary Short Subject category of the Academy Awards®, without the standard theatrical run, provided the film otherwise complies with the Academy rules.

Best Short Documentary Award Winners

The Love and Death of Yosef and Zilli | Dean Gold | SFJFF 2021
Caregiver: A Love Story
 | Jessica Nutik Zitter, MD & Kevin Gordon | Cinegogue Summer Days 2020
Guy Hircefeld, a Guy with a Camera | Andrés Gallegos | SFJFF 2019
A Perfect Day for Banana Leaves
| Yavin Rubinstein | SFJFF 2018
116 Cameras 
| Davina Pardo | SFJFF 2017

SFJFF Film Movement Award

The SFJFF Film Movement Award, co-presented with distributor Film Movement, honors achievement in short filmmaking that expresses the Jewish experience in a unique, original, and meaningful way, or provides a fresh perspective on diversity within the Israeli or Jewish community. SFJFF selected shorts of any genre or style - live action, animation, documentary, etc. - are eligible for the award. The award-winner is announced at the close of that season's San Francisco Jewish Film Festival and receives the option of a non-exclusive, DVD and streaming distribution deal with Film Movement.

Film Movement Award Winners

Summer Vacation | Sharon Maymon, Tal Granit | SFJFF 2013
Welcome and Our Condolences | Leon Prudovsky | SFJFF 2014
Ed & Pauline | Christian Bruno, Natalija Vekic | SFJFF 2015
What Cheer? | Michael Slavens | SFJFF 2016
Mr. Bernstein | Francine Zuckerman | SFJFF 2017
Summer | Pearl Gluck | SFJFF 2018
Black Hat | Sarah Smith | SFJFF 2019
The Shabbos Goy | Talia Osteen | Cinegogue Summer Days 2020
The Binding of Itzik | Anika Benkov | SFJFF 2021

SFJFF Youth Jury Award

The inaugural Youth Jury will be presenting the SFJFF39 Youth Jury Prize to the winning short filmmaker on Thursday, July 25th. JFI Programming staff had the pleasure to meet with a select group of Bay Area teens to explore what it means to jury a film. The teens spent several Sunday sessions viewing short films, writing reviews, and debating and discussing the nuance and nature of each film under the direction of Program Director Jay Rosenblatt and Programmer Joshua Moore.

The Youth Jury is a program of the Jewish Teen Education and Engagement Initiative, with support provided by the Jewish Community Federation and Endowment Fund, Jewish Federation of the East Bay and The Jewish Community Foundation, and the Jim Joseph Foundation. 

Read More

SFJFF Youth Jury Award Winners

Black Hat | Sarah Smith | SFJFF 2019
Masel Tov Cocktail | Cinegogue Summer Days 2020

Resources and Opportunities To Help You Tell Your Story.

The JFI newsletter is tailored to filmmakers working with Jewish themes. Join our community today!

* indicates required